Skip to Main Content

N.C. Practice Materials

Practice Materials are those resources which focus on aspects of legal practice rather than exploring the law from an academic, historical, or public-policy perspective. These resources come in many forms, and each resource has its own set of features. Although each source is unique, we can make broad generalizations about resources based on several categories. The following categories of publications are not the only types of practice materials available, and they are not formal, exclusive definitions. A resource may contain elements from all three of these categories, or none of them. However, knowing these broad generalizations can be useful in choosing a resource to explore.

Manuals

You’ve probably run across non-legal manuals in your life, and might think of them as ‘how-to’ guides for a task or piece of equipment. Legal manuals can be conceived of similarly. These practice-oriented books often contain a combination of legal information and practical, procedural information, arranged in logical order. Manuals often contain forms of various types as well.

Form Books

Not all form books are alike, and they can be used in many different contexts. Form books may contain copies of actual fill-in-the-blank forms used by law enforcement or the court system. They may also contain sample documents—such as wills, contracts, or complaints—with “boilerplate” language that an attorney or law student may use as an aid in drafting their own legal documents. The forms may serve as templates for certain types of legal documents. Law students may find form books useful guides to what these legal documents look like, what sorts of clauses they contain, and what specific legal language or phrasing may be used to invoke a particular legal concept. Attorneys may find formbooks useful as a checklist or as a starting point for drafting documents to fit their clients’ needs. Some form books contain analysis as well as forms.

Desk Books

So named because they are meant to be kept close at hand (on a lawyer’s desk), these books are designed to function as a comprehensive guide to an area of law, highlighting causes of action and rules of law and construction on legal topics. Many also include forms.

Continuing Legal Education Publications (CLEs)

In order to stay current on the law, attorneys are required to complete a certain number of education credits each year. The publications from those classes are often succinct and practical highlights of special topics in an area of law or changes in the law. These publications are not updated, but can provide a useful view of legal topics aimed at practicing attorneys.


Below you will find resources for North Carolina Practice arranged according to fields of law. NOTE: although some of the publications have older copyright dates, many of them are updated periodically with supplements or new chapters/pages—so if an older dated publication looks interesting, check for supplementation (often in a pamphlet in the back of the book).

Forms, General

Barlow, John, et. al., North Carolina General Practice Form Book. Winston-Salem, NC: Wake Forest CLE, Annual [KFN7481 .N673 1999]

Douglas' Forms , 6th ed. Newark, NJ: LexisNexis, c2005-. [KFN7468 .D68 2005] (Reserve Room) [Available electronically via Lexis Advance to UNC Law Students and Faculty]

One of the most commonly used North Carolina form books, Douglas' Forms contains a variety of forms used in Business Transactions; Civil Litigation; Wills, Trusts and Estate Administration; Real Estate; and Domestic Relations and Guardians.

General Statutes of North Carolina Annotated . Charlottesville, VA: LEXIS Law Pub., 1999-.[KFN7430 1943 .A24]

A selection of forms is available in Volume 19 of the printed statutes, but is not available electronically.

North Carolina General Practice Deskbook . 3rd ed. Cary, NC: North Carolina Bar Association Foundation, c2004. [KFN7481 .G45 3rd]

North Carolina Formfinder, [Available electronically via Westlaw Next to UNC Law Students and Faculty]
This database of forms is fully searchable, browse-able by subject, and can be limited to any state jurisdiction.
FastCase Legal Forms and Documents, [Available electronically via FastCase to UNC Law Students and Faculty]
This resource is also provided to North Carolina Attorneys free of charge through their participation in the North Carolina Bar Association. [NC Bar Association]

Automobiles

Snyder, James E. Jr., North Carolina Automobile Insurance Law, 3rd ed. Suwanee, GA: Harrison Co., c. 1999. [KFN7591 .A4 S69 1999]

North Carolina Conference of Superior Court Judges. Committee on Pattern Jury Instructions. North Carolina Pattern Jury Instructions for Motor Vehicle Negligence. Raleigh: The Conference, 1973-. [KFN7942 .A65 N681]

Pattern Jury instructions lay out the elements of crimes and burdens of proof in simple, straightforward model language, and can therefore be an invaluable resource for preparing complaints, defenses, and courtroom arguments.

Business/Corporations

2008 Basics of Business Law . Cary, NC: North Carolina Bar Association Foundation, c2004. [KFN7613 .A75 B38 2004]

Moser, Kenneth A., North CarolinaCommercial Financing Forms. Lawyers Co-operative Pub., 1992-. [KFN7570 .A65 M67]

Robinson, Russel M., Robinson on North Carolina Corporation Law. 7th ed. Newark, NJ: LexisNexis/ Matthew Bender, 2000-. [KFN7613 .R62 7th] (Reserve Room) [Available electronically via Lexis Advance to UNC Law Students and Faculty]

This resource combines treatise-like analysis of corporation law in North Carolina --including case law and statutory analysis -- with forms of a variety of corporate legal documents. Forms range from document templates to collections of sample language to be used to invoke particular legal constructs.

Snyder, James E., North Carolina Corporation Law and Practice Forms. 3rd ed., Suwanee, GA: Harrison Co., c1999. [KFN/7613 .A65 569 1999][Available electronically via Westlaw Next to UNC Law Students and Faculty]

Johnson, Cyrus M., North Carolina Limited Liability Company : Forms and Practice Manual. 3rd ed. Brooklandville, MC : Data Trace Pub., 2001-. [KFN7607.5 .A65 J64 3d]

Civil Practice and Procedure

Luney, Percy R. Jr., Luney's Burns North Carolina Discovery. Norcross, GA: Harrison Co., 1992. [KFN7937 .B85 1992] (Reserve Room)

Woodlief, Alan D. Shuford North Carolina Civil Practice and Procedure: with appellate advocacy. 6th ed. Eagan, MN: Thomson West, c2003. [KFN7930 .S53 2003] (Reserve Room) [Available electronically via Westlaw Next to UNC Law Students and Faculty]

Gray, Wilson G. North Carolina Civil Procedure. 3rd ed. Newark, NJ : LexisNexis, 2007. [KFN7930 .G73 2007] (Reserve Room) [Available electronically via Lexis Advance to UNC Law Students and Faculty]

North Carolina Conference of Superior Court Judges. Committee on Pattern Jury Instructions. North Carolina Pattern Jury Instructions for Civil Cases. Raleigh: The Conference, 1975-. [KFN7942.6 .A6 N67]

Pattern jury instructions lay out the elements of crimes and burdens of proof in simple, straightforward model language, and can therefore be an invaluable resource for preparing complaints, defenses, and courtroom arguments

Collections

Collection and Enforcement of Judgments. Cary, NC : North Carolina Bar Association Foundation, c. 2011. [KFN7951 .N67 2011] CLE

This CLE outlines the law from a practical standpoint, giving information on pre- and post-judgment collections and remedies, ethical considerations, and dealing with debtor avoidance. Sample forms, judgments, and other legal documents are included as well as bibliography of applicable statutes and case law.

North Carolina Construction Law Deskbook, Peter J. Marino, ed. Cary, NC: North Carolina Bar Association Foundation, Continuing Legal Education, 2010. [KFN7675 .N67 2010] CLE

Contracts

Form contracts in various areas of law can be found in more general formbooks as well as resources that are written on general contracts. For instance, Douglas' Forms contains a chapter on Business Contracts, Partnerships and Joint Ventures.

Atwell, J. Stanley, et al., North CarolinaContract Practice Manual. Winston- Salem, NC: Wake Forest CLE, 1991. [KFN7550 .A75 N67 1991] CLE

Criminal Law and Procedure

Welty, Jeffrey B., Arrest Warrant and Indictment Forms. 6th ed. UNC Institute of Government, c2005-. [KFN7976 .A65 A77 6th]

Farb, Robert L. and Sherry C. McConnell. North CarolinaProsecutors' Trial Manual. 2nd ed. UNC Institute of Government, 1993-. [KFN7977 .F37 2nd]

Joyner, Irving, Criminal Procedure in North Carolina. 3rd ed. Newark, NJ: LexisNexis, c2005.[KFN7975 .J69 2005] (Reserve Room) [Available electronically via Lexis Advance to UNC Law Students and Faculty]

North CarolinaCriminal Law and Procedure. Annual, Charlottesville, VA: Michie Co. [KFN7961 .N673]

This comprehensive resource lists and explains North Carolina statutes, constitutional provisions, and U.S. Constitutional provisions which affect criminal law and procedure. Editors also note which statutes have been added or amended for the year

Price, Ronald M. North Carolina Criminal Trial Practice Forms, 6th ed. Eagan, MN: West, c2011-. [KFN7975 .A65 P741] (Reserve Room) [Available electronically via Westlaw Next to UNC Law Students and Faculty]

North Carolina Conference of Superior Court Judges. Committee on Pattern Jury Instructions. North Carolina Pattern Jury Instructions for Criminal Cases. Raleigh: The Conference, 1973-. [KFN7983 .A65 N671]

Pattern jury instructions lay out the elements of crimes and burdens of proof in simple, straightforward model language, and can therefore be an invaluable resource for preparing complaints, defenses, and courtroom arguments

Smith, Jessica, North Carolina Crimes: a Guidebook to the Elements of Crime. Chapel Hill, NC : UNC School of Government, 2012. [KFN7961 .N61 2012]

This commonly-used resource lays out the elements of crimes, and provides both the statutory language defining the crime and major case law interpreting the statute

Domestic Relations/ Family Law / Divorce Law

Kelso, Lloyd T., North Carolina Divorce, Alimony and Child Custody: With Forms, 4th ed [rev.] St. Paul, MN: West Group, c2003. (Supplement 2007/08) [KFN7500 .K44 2003]

Marian F. Dobbs, Determining Child & Spousal Support. Eagan, Minn. : West, 2011-2013. [KF549 .B462] [Available electronically via Westlaw Next to UNC Law Students and Faculty]

Although this resource is not intended solely for North Carolina attorneys, many of the principles discussed in the analysis are applicable in many jurisdictions. It contains forms and worksheets along with completed examples and explanations intended to guide attorneys and consultants in support calculations

Sullivan, Mark E. & Bailey J. Farrin., FamilyLaw Practice and Procedure. Raleigh, NC : North Carolina Academy of Trial Lawyers, 2000. [KFN7494 .A65 S94 2000]

Kelso, Lloyd T., North Carolina Family Law Practice. St. Paul, Minn. : Thomson/West, 2008. [KFN7500 .K442 2008] [Available electronically via Westlaw Next to UNC Law Students and Faculty]

This resource contains treatise-like analysis of issues in family law arranged by topic, with statutory and case law discussion included.

Saxon, John L., North Carolina Guardianship Manual. Chapel Hill, NC : UNC, School of Government, 2008. [KFN7506 .S39 2008]

After Lawrence: LGBT Legal Issues in North Carolina.Durham, NC : North Carolina Gay and Lesbian Attorneys, 2004. [KFN7502 .A58 2004] CLE

Mental Health and Disability Law

Turnage, Benjamin M. North Carolina Civil Commitment Manual. Chapel Hill, NC: UNC School of Government; Durham, NC: North Carolina Office of Indigent Defense Services, 2011. [KFN7764.Z9 N49 2011]

Personal Injuries

North Carolina Personal Injury Liens Manual.Raleigh, NC : North Carolina Academy of Trial Lawyers; Albany: LexisNexis, 2011. [KFN7576.L5 N67 2011]

This resource gives a basic overview, as well as the background and mechanics of various types of liens, including Medicaid/Medicare, ERISA, workers compensation, and estate recovery liens. Forms are included on CD ROM as well as within the text of the resource.

Property

Szypszak, Charles, North CarolinaGuidebook for Registers of Deeds, 10th ed. UNC School of Government, 2013. [KFN7493 .C35 2013]

This resource contains administrative information about registers of deeds in North Carolina as well as information about access to and preservation of real property transaction records and other official records such as marriage licenses and birth certificates

Campbell, William A., Property Tax Lien Foreclosure: Forms and Procedures, 6th ed. UNC Institute of Government, c2003. [KFN7871.9 .F6 C35 2003]

Commercial Real Estate CPE. Cary, NC: North Carolina Bar Association Foundation, 2010. [KFN7526 .Z9 C65 2010] CLE

North Carolina Construction Law Deskbook . Peter J. Marino, ed. 5th ed. Cary, NC: North Carolina Bar Association Foundation, Continuing Legal Education, c.2010. [KFN7675 .N67 2010] CLE.

Mills, Janice. North CarolinaLandlord and Tenant Breach and Remedies. Norcross, GA: Harrison Co., 1991. [KFN7517 .S47 1991]

Webster, James A., Webster's Real Estate Law in North Carolina: Possessory Estates and Present Interests in Real Property. 6th ed. New Providence, NJ: LexisNexis, c. 2011-. [KFN7512 .W421 6th] (Reserve Room) [Available electronically via Lexis Advance to UNC Law Students and Faculty]

This resource contains an analytical overview of the Nature and Classification of Property, Estates and Interests in Real Property, Models of Acquisition and Transfer of Title or Interests in Real Property, Examinations of Titles to Real Property in North Carolina, and Uniform Acts and Related Legislation.

Urban, Edmund T., North Carolina Real Estate with Forms. Eagan, MN : West, 2009. [KFN7526 .U73 2009]

Owens, David W., Land Use Law in North Carolina. Chapel Hill, NC : UNC School of Government, 2011 [KFN7858 .O92 2011]

Tax

Campbell, William A., Property Tax Lien Foreclosure: Forms and Procedures, 6th ed. UNC Institute of Government, c2003. [KFN7871.9 .F6 C35 2003]

North Carolina Tax Reporter: State and Local; All Taxes, All Taxables. Commerce Clearing House, 1951-. [KFN7870 .A6 N67] (Reference Collection- 4th Floor)

In addition to providing a detailed overview of the revenue-producing taxes of North Carolina, this publication includes a section on tax practice and procedure as a guide to non-substantive aspects of tax law practice.

10th Annual North Carolina/South Carolina Tax Section Workshops. Cary, NC : North Carolina Bar Association Foundation, 2011. [KFN7870 .A75 T39 2011] CLE

Trial Practice, General

North Carolina Judicial Department Forms Manual. Raleigh, NC: Administrative Office of the Courts, 1984-. [KFN7468 .N677 Rev.] (Reserve Room) [Available electronically via NC Court System]

Thorp, William L., Thorp's North Carolina Trial Practice Forms, 7th ed., Eagan, Minn.: West, c2011. [KFN 7930 .A65 T48 2011] (Reserve Room) [Available electronically via Westlaw Next to UNC Law Students and Faculty]

Blakey, Walker J. NC Evidence … Courtroom Manual Cincinnati : Anderson Pub. Co., 1998-. [KFN7940 .B53] (Reserve Room) [Available electronically via Lexis Advance to UNC Law Students and Faculty]

This resource contains detailed analysis on all North Carolina Rules of Evidence as interpreted by statute and case law. Comparisons with federal rules of evidence, significant recent changes to the rules, and additional authority round out discussion. To illustrate the rules, real-world hypotheticals are included.

North CarolinaManual of Complaints. Sean A. B. Cole, ed. Raleigh, NC : North Carolina Advocates for Justice; Albany, NY: LexisNexis, 2013. [KFN7935.A65 N67 2013]

Brannon, Joan G. and Jan S. Simmons. North Carolina Clerk of Superior Court Procedures Manual. Chapel Hill, NC: UNC School of Government, 2003-. [KFN7962 .C6 N62] (Reserve Room).

Torts

Woodlief, Alan D. North Carolina Law of Damages. 5th ed. Eagan, MN : Thomson/West, 2004. [KFN 7595.H53 2004] [Available electronically via Westlaw Next to UNC Law Students and Faculty]

North Carolina Tort Law, 2006. Winston-Salem, NC: Wake Forest University School of Law, 2006. [KFN7595. L63 2006] CLE

Wills, Trusts, and Estates

Atwell, J. Stanley. Will Drafting and Probate Practice, 2006. Winston-Salem, NC: Wake Forest CLE, c2006. [KFN7544 .N67 2006] CLE

Basics of Will and Revocable Trust Drafting . Cary, NC: North Carolina Bar Association Foundation, 2010. [KFN7544 .B372 2010] CLE

Hall, C. Wells, North CarolinaWill and Trust Manual. 2002 ed. Winston-Salem: Wake Forest University School of Law, c2002. [KFN7542 .A6 W54 1998] (Reserve Room)

Holding, Graham D. and Reid, Christy Eve. BB&T Estate Planning Forms Manual, 2006 rev. Branch Banking and Trust Corp., c2006. [KFN7540 .H64 2006]

McLamb, Janet H. Edwards' North Carolina Probate Handbook: with Forms. St. Paul, MN: Thomson/West, 2003-. [KFN7544 . E38] [Available electronically via Westlaw Next to UNC Law Students and Faculty]

This handbook discusses procedural steps in administration of probate estates in North Carolina. Designed as a practical guide, the source contains Administrative Office of the Courts forms and is focused on the practical steps to be taken when administering estates

Huggard, John Parker. North Carolina Estate Settlement Practice Guide. Eagan, MN : Thomson Reuters, 2013. [KFN7547 .H84 2013] [Available electronically via Westlaw Next to UNC Law Students and Faculty]

This guide is similar to a deskbook in that it offers fairly comprehensive coverage of the subject matter. The resource also contains forms, checklist, and practical advice on applying the law and avoiding malpractice.

Last updated by VN on 12/30/2013

Go to Top of Page


If you are seeing this, you are either using a non-graphical browser or Netscape 4.x (4.7, 4.8, etc.) and this page appears very plain. If you are using a 4.x version of Netscape, this site is fully functional but lacks styles and optimizations available in other browsers. For full functionality, please upgrade your browser to the latest version of Internet Explorer or Firefox.