Job Searching Resources Section Menu Research -Access to Legal Databases -Ask a Law Librarian -Research Appointments -E-Journals -E-Research Tools -Legal Databases -Research Guides --Citizen's Guide to N.C. Banking, Home Loan & Foreclosure --Court Records and Briefs in the Law Library --Federal Banking Law --Federal Legislative History --Foreign and International Law Guide --Form Books by Subject --Job Searching Resources --Legal Treatises by Subject --N.C. Administrative Law --N.C. Legislative History --N.C. Practice Materials --N.C. State Statutes, County and Municipal Ordinances --PACER -N.C. Law Sites -Search TRLN -UNC-CH Catalog Enter Edit Mode Show Page History Manage Left Navigation Widgets Manage Page Widgets Change Number of Areas Page History Choose an Area to Edit Area: Working... Current Left Navigation Widgets Working... Current Page Widgets Working... Choose the Number of Areas for This Page NOTE: Reducing the number of areas will permanentlydelete any content and widgets in the removed area(s). Area Positions Area 1 is the main column for the page Area 2 appears to the right of area 1 Number of Areas: 1 2 Working... Many of the resources you need to search for legal employment opportunities are available in the Law Library, Career Services office, in other campus libraries, or online. This guide outlines some available resources; keep in mind that most legal employers have their own websites which provide more detailed information. Available at the Law Library Corporations Almanac of American Employers - contains profiles of the largest U.S. employers as well as information for job seekers. (HF5549.5.C67; also online through LexisNexis Academic) Corporate Counsel - a magazine which focuses on in-house law departments. Includes job listings. (K3 .O564215; also available online) Corporate Yellow Book: who's who at the leading listed U.S. companies- a leadership directory - lists contacts for over 37,000 executives. (HG4057 .A15646; also available at the Law School Career Services Office) Directory of Corporate Counsel - a directory with biographical information on corporate attorneys. (KF195 .C5 D57; also available at the Law School Career Services office and on Westlaw - password required) Federal Government Congressional Yellow Book - a leadership directory - a directory of U.S. Senators and Representatives, as well as staff. (JK1083 .B55; also available at the Law School Career Services office) Federal Yellow Book - a leadership directory - a directory of over 43,000 government officials. (JK6 .F45; also available at the Law School Career Services office) Firms The American lawyer's guide to leading U.S. law firms - a list of the top 100 law firms ranked by gross revenue and net operating income. (KF190 .A43; see www.law.com for more information.) Chambers USA: America's Leading Lawyers for Business - provides listings by state of leading lawyers and firms and nationwide for lawyers and firms that have a national practice. (KF190 .C43; also available online). Martindale-Hubbell Directory of Law Firms - a directory of practicing attorneys. It also contains brief profiles of company legal departments and profiles of U.S. and international law firms. (KF190 .M378; also available in limited form online) The National Law Journal - Each November, "NLJ 250" publishes a listing of the 250 biggest law firms in the U.S. with a brief profile of each firm. Full text articles from 2001 to present are available online through the UNC catalog. (K14. A747) Vault/MCCA Guide to Law Firm Diversity Programs - focuses on diversity programs in the top law US firms. (KF299.M56 V38 2007; also available at the Law School Career Services office) Vault Guide to Law Firm Pro Bono Programs - focuses on pro bono programs in the top law US firms. (KF336.A4 V38 2007; also available at the Law School Career Services office) Vault Guide to the Top 100 Law Firms - gives ratings and rankings of the top law firms as well as vocational guidance. (KF301 .V38; also available at the Law School Career Services office and online through the UNC library catalog) Judicial Clerkships Almanac of the Federal Judiciary: profiles of all active United States district court judges - profiles of every federal trial, appellate, bankruptcy and magistrate judge in the US. (KF8700.A19 A4; also available online via Westlaw - password required) American Bench; Judges of the Nation - a directory of over 18,000 judges. Includes biographical information. (KF8700.A19 A47) Chambers Handbook for Judges' Law Clerks and Secretaries - an overview of operations in chambers. (JU 13.8: C 35; also available online through the UNC catalog) Directory of State and Federal Courts, Judges, and Clerks - this directory provides contact information for judges and judicial officials in State and Federal Courts in the US. (KF8700.A19 B53) Federal Appellate Court Law Clerk Handbook -provides insider information on becoming a federal law clerk. (KF8807 .L45 2007; also available at the Law School Career Services office) Federal District Court Law Clerk Handbook - provides insider information on the district court system and tips on finding a clerkship. (KF8870 .C48 2007; also available at the Law School Career Services office) Judicial Staff Directory - a directory of US federal courts. (KF8700.A19 J83) Non-Traditional Careers Beyond the Big Firm: Profiles of Lawyers Who Want Something More - profiles of thirty-three lawyers who chose a different path than the traditional law firm. (KF299.P8 M67 2007) Fifty Unique Legal Paths - designed for lawyers looking for another type of career. (KF297 .F87 2008) How to be a Law Professor Guide: From Getting That First Job to Retirement - a guide to the law teaching profession. (KF297 .E33 2008) Nonlegal Careers for Lawyers - defines and provides guidance on finding a job in a non-legal career. (KF297 .M862 2006) North Carolina Government Directory of members, committees, rules, and House officers - a list of North Carolina House members. (KFN7821.5.R8 H68; also available at the Career Service office and online) Senate directory, committees and rules - a list of North Carolina Senate members. (KFN7821.5.R8 S36; also available at the Law School Career Services office and online) State Yellow Book - a leadership directory - adirectory of over 43,000 state officials. (JK2404 .S77; also available at the Law School Career Services office) Public Interest Encyclopedia of Associations - a directory of national organizations with valuable information on different industries. (AS22 .E53; also available online through LexisNexis - password required) Solo Practice Flying Solo: A Survival Guide for the Solo Lawyer - a how to guide for building a successful practice. (KF300 .F58 2005; also available at the Law School Career Services office) How to Start and Build a Law Practice - contains over 100 chapters about starting your own law practice. (KF300.Z9 2004; also available at the Law School Career Services office) The Legal Career Guide: From Law Student to Lawyer - a general guide to help law students during and after law school. (KF297 .M86; also available at the Law School Career Services office) Starting Your Own Practice: The Independence Guide for Professional Service Providers - a guidebook for various professionals wishing to open their own practice. (HG179.5 .F73 2005) Specific Practice Areas The Amicus Brief, How to Be a Good Friend of the Court (KF8748.S536 2004; also available at the Law School Career Services office) Careers in International Law (KZ1238.U55 C27 2008; also available at the Law School Career Services office) Management Consulting - a guide published by the Harvard Business School Management Consulting Club for careers in management consulting. (HD69.C6 M363; also available at the Law School Career Services office). Municipal Yellow Book: who's who in the leading city and county governments and local authorities - a leadership directory - a directory of over 37,000 US city, county and local authorities. (JS39 .M79) Other Resources Almanac of American Politics - biographies of politicians. (JK1012 .A44; also available online at LexisNexis Academic) Excellence in the Workplace: Legal & Life Skills in a Nutshell - provides tools for building a successful career. (KF297 .K28 2007) NALP Directory of Legal Employers - a directory of corporate legal departments, government agencies, law firms and public internet entities; with information on demographics, practice areas and salaries. (KF297.A1 D5732; also available at the Law School Career Services office and online) Placement Bulletin, AALS - a magazine published monthly by the Association of American Law Schools. (Current issues only on reserve at Law Library circulation desk; also available at the Law School Career Services office) Who's Who in American Law - biographies of U.S. lawyers. (KF372.W48) Who's Who in America - biographies of prominent Americans. (E176 .W642) Resume/Interview/Networking A Lawyer's Guide to Networking - a practical networking guide. (KF216.5 .S64 2006; also available at the Law School Career Services office) The Legal Career Guide: From Law Student to Lawyer - a guide to help law students navigate the job search process. (KF297 .M86 2008) Resumes for Law Careers - expert advice on creating resumes tailored for a career in law. (KF297.Z9 R47 2008; also available online through the UNC catalog) Online Resources Federal Government Presidential Management Fellows Program Opportunities - a fellowship program designed to attract people that have an interest and commitment to leadership and the management of public policies and programs. USAJOBS - an official job site for the US Government; search over 30,000 U.S. Government job opportunities. U.S. Department of Justice, Summer Law Intern Program - this website gives information about the program, as well as instructions for applying. Firms Fee Fie Foe Firm: The law firm search engine - an online resource that allows you to search for US or international law firm websites. West Legal Directory - allows you to search for directory listings and biographical information on over 1 million law firms and attorneys. (password required) Judicial Clerkships Biographical Directory of Federal Judges - provides biographical information on all past and present federal judges from 1789 to the present. Judicial Clerkships.com - helps students locate information on judicial clerkships. OSCAR - Online System for Clerkship Application & Review - allows you to search for clerkship positions and submit applications online. U.S. Courts: Careers - this website allows you to search for job vacancies and fill out applications. There is also information on compensation and benefits. North Carolina Government North Carolina State Government Job Vacancies -includes job postings for attorney positions. North Carolina State Government Youth Advocacy Internships - offers paid internships to college and law students each summer. Public Interest PSLawnet - a resource for people interested in public service legal careers. Public Interest Job Search Guide - put out by the Law School Career Services staff, this guide describes the types of public interest work available at Carolina Law as well as public interest job settings and how to find a public interest job. Resume/Interview/Networking Careers for Legal Eagles & Other Law and Order Types - includes vital information on finding and getting a job as well as competing in the job market. (Available online through the UNC catalog) 101 Great Answers to the Toughest Interview Questions (available at the Law School Career Services office). Available at Career Services Office The Career Services Office assists Carolina Law students and alumni in locating employment. Visit their website for more information and services provided. In-House Legal Practice Going In-House, A Guide for Law Students and Recent Graduates The National Jobbank, 2000: The Complete Employment Guide to Over 21,000 American Companies, 16th ed. profiles over 21,000 American Companies with directory information included. Vault Guide to Corporate Law Careers Applying for Federal Jobs: Guide to Writing Successful Applications and Resumes for the Job You Want in Government Federal Job Hunting Tips Federal Legal Employment Opportunities Guide Federal Plum Book Federal Resume Guidebook Handbook on DA, PD, and Government Jobs Government Honors and Internship Handbook (available at the Career Services office; also available online: see My Carolina Law - Career Services - Job Search Library - Federal and State Governments for more information) John Douglas' Guide to Careers in the FBI Judge Advocate General Corps Legal Internships with Federal Agencies, Career Education Institutes National Directory of Prosecuting Attorneys The Student's Federal Career Guide U.S. Department of Justice, Attorney General's Honors Program - a competitive Honors Program for entry-level attorneys. This is the only way graduating law students can be hired. Vault Guide to the Top Government and Nonprofit Legal Employers Working for the Civil Division, An Overview for Prospective Employers, US-DOJ Civil Division Celebrating Ten Years of the Law Firm Pro Bono Challenge, 2005 The Insider's Guide to Getting a Big Firm Job 2009 Handbook on DA, PD and Government Jobs ABC's of Marketing for Sole Practitioners and Small Law Firms Creating, Building and Managing a Law Practice Small Firm Law Practice Management Starting Your Own Practice, ABA ABA Section of International Law and Practice Notebook Careers in Civil Litigation Careers in Sports Law Consulting for Dummies Contract Lawyering The Divorce Lawyers Environmental Law Careers From Behind the Wall International Opportunities Resource Guide, NALP Jobs & Careers with Non-Profit Organizations Serving the Public: A Job Search Guide The Music and Entertainment Industry Internship Guide, compiled by Entertainment Media Consultants Vault Guide to Bankruptcy Law Careers Vault Guide to Labor and Employment Law Careers Vault Guide to Litigation Law Careers Vault Guide to Tax Law Careers 101 Smart Questions to Ask on Your Interview Building Career Connections: Networking Skills for Law Students and New Lawyers The Federal Resume Guidebook The Law Firm Interview The Legal Job Interview: Winning the Law-Related Job in Today's Market Searching for an Alternative: A Law Student's Guide to Finding Non-Legal Jobs - a pamphlet from the NALP. The Complete Guide to Environmental Careers in the 21st Century (GE60 .D69 1999) Death by Design: Capital Punishment as a Social Psychological System - an examination of the death penalty. (HV8699.U5 H265 2005) An Insider's Guide to Interviewing: Insight from the Employer's Perspective - pamphlet from the NALP. The How-To's of Informational Interviewing: A Step by Step Guide - pamphlet from the NALP. Negotiating with Small Firms - pamphlet from the NALP. Sweaty Palms: the Neglected Art of Being Interviewed (HF5549.5.16 M35) Research Access to Legal DatabasesAsk a Law LibrarianResearch AppointmentsE-Journals E-Research ToolsLegal DatabasesResearch GuidesCitizen's Guide to N.C. Banking, Home Loan & ForeclosureCourt Records and Briefs in the Law LibraryFederal Banking LawFederal Legislative HistoryForeign and International Law GuideForm Books by SubjectJob Searching ResourcesLegal Treatises by SubjectN.C. Administrative LawN.C. Legislative HistoryN.C. Practice MaterialsN.C. State Statutes, County and Municipal OrdinancesPACERN.C. Law SitesSearch TRLNUNC-CH Catalog Go to Top of Page