Skip to Main Content

Job Searching Resources Available in the Law Library

Many of the resources you need to search for legal employment opportunities are available in the Law Library, Career Development Office, in other campus libraries, or online. This guide outlines some resources available through the Law Library.

Keep in mind that most legal employers have their own websites which provide more detailed information. To find information about a particular law firm, for instance, you may want to begin with its own website to find out what areas of practice it's engaged in, information about the lawyers in the firm, and recent news about the firm. To find information about potential employers in a particular geographic region or practice area, a better place to start might be Leadership Library on the Internet.

Corporations

  • Leadership Library - Companies section includes contact information and other data for thousands of U.S. and international companies.
  • Corporate Counsel - a magazine which focuses on in-house law departments. Includes job listings. (K3 .O564215; also available online)
  • Directory of Corporate Counsel - a directory with biographical information on corporate attorneys. (KF195 .C5 D57; also available on Westlaw - password required)

Federal Government

Firms

  • ALM Legal Intelligence - searchable law firm profiles with detailed firm information, along with dozens of surveys related to the legal industry.
  • www.law.com - offers a number of law firm rankings and surveys, as well as access to publications such as the online version of The American Lawyer.
  • Leadership Library - searchable law firm information, including contact information for recruiting chairs and practice groups, search by areas of expertise, and other finding tools. (password required)
  • Martindale-Hubbell Directory of Law Firms - an online directory of practicing attorneys. Older hardbound volumes also contain brief profiles of company legal departments and profiles of U.S. and international law firms. (KF190 .M378)
  • The National Law Journal - Each November, "NLJ 250" publishes a listing of the 250 biggest law firms in the U.S. with a brief profile of each firm. Full text articles from 2001 to present are available online through the UNC catalog. (K14. A747)
  • West Legal Directory - allows you to search for directory listings and biographical information on over 1 million law firms and attorneys. (password required)
  • Many BNA databases offer current law firm news related to their respective subjects. To access, just click on “All law firms” on left side of the database’s homepage.
  • Bloomberg Law - the Search & Browse feature allows you to search for law firm news and press releases. (password required)

Judicial Clerkships

  • Almanac of the Federal Judiciary: profiles of all active United States district court judges - profiles of every federal trial, appellate, bankruptcy and magistrate judge in the US. (KF8700.A19 A4; also available online via Westlaw - password required)
  • Leadership Library - comprehensive database (searchable and browseable) of US and state court judges and court personnel. (password required)
  • American Bench; Judges of the Nation - a directory of over 18,000 judges. Includes biographical information. (KF8700.A19 A47)
  • Directory of State and Federal Courts, Judges, and Clerks - this directory provides contact information for judges and judicial officials in State and Federal Courts in the US. (KF8700.A19 B53)
  • Federal Appellate Court Law Clerk Handbook -provides insider information on becoming a federal law clerk. (KF8807 .L45 2007)
  • Federal District Court Law Clerk Handbook - provides insider information on the district court system and tips on finding a clerkship. (KF8870 .C48 2007)

Non-Traditional Careers

  • Beyond the Big Firm: Profiles of Lawyers Who Want Something More - profiles of thirty-three lawyers who chose a different path than the traditional law firm. (KF299.P8 M67 2007)
  • Fifty Unique Legal Paths - designed for lawyers looking for another type of career. (KF297 .F87 2008)
  • From Lemons to Lemonade in the New Legal Job Market – provides a comprehensive overview of the current legal market, along with information about preparing resumes, the job search, and non-traditional legal employers. (KF297 .H437 2012)
  • How to be a Law Professor Guide: From Getting That First Job to Retirement - a guide to the law teaching profession. (KF297 .E33 2008)
  • Nonlegal Careers for Lawyers - defines and provides guidance on finding a job in a non-legal career. (KF297 .M862 2006)
  • Small Firms, Big Opportunity: How to Get Hired (and Succeed) in the New Legal Economy up-to-date information from practicing lawyers about how to get hired and succeed in small and medium-sized law firms. (KF297 .H325 2012)

North Carolina Government

Public Interest

  • PSJD - a resource for people interested in public service legal careers.
  • Leadership Library on the Internet - an extensive database of nonprofit organizations searchable by function, mission or geographic location. (password required)

Solo Practice

  • Flying Solo: A Survival Guide for the Solo Lawyer - a how to guide for building a successful practice. (KF300 .F58 2005; also available at the Law School Career Development Office)
  • How to Start and Build a Law Practice - contains over 100 chapters about starting your own law practice. (KF300.Z9 2004; also available at the Law School Career Development Office)
  • Run Your Firm Like a Business: An Operations Guide for Solo Practitioner and Small Law Firm – a guide aimed at helping lawyers run their practices more efficiently, that discusses issues like information management systems; billing and collection systems; developing clients; and marketing. (KF318 .L63 2013)
  • Solo - an online journal devoted to issues about running a solo practice, and produced by the ABA’s General Practice, Solo and Small Firm Section. (Full text available via the UNC-Chapel Hill Libraries)

Other Resources

  • Careers in International Law (KZ1238.U55 C27 2008)
  • Excellence in the Workplace: Legal & Life Skills in a Nutshell - provides tools for building a successful career. (KF297 .K28 2007)
  • NALP Directory of Legal Employers - a directory of corporate legal departments, government agencies, law firms and public internet entities; with information on demographics, practice areas and salaries. (KF297.A1 D5732; also available online)
  • Placement Bulletin, AALS - a magazine published monthly by the Association of American Law Schools. (Current issues only on reserve at Law Library circulation desk)

Resumes, Interviewing, and Networking

Last Updated 2/7/14 by JWS

Go to Top of Page


If you are seeing this, you are either using a non-graphical browser or Netscape 4.x (4.7, 4.8, etc.) and this page appears very plain. If you are using a 4.x version of Netscape, this site is fully functional but lacks styles and optimizations available in other browsers. For full functionality, please upgrade your browser to the latest version of Internet Explorer or Firefox.